Socceroos Central: Hrustic scores, Sainsbury starts

by Ben Somerford on Aug 05, 2019

0 comments | | print

Ajdin Hrustic scored the winner as FC Groningen started the new Eredivisie campaign with a 1-0 win at promoted Emmen on Saturday.

Hrustic scored in the 87th minute to decide the contest, before being replaced two minutes later.

The Australian got on the end of a Ramon Lundqvist pass, before rounding the opposition keeper and converting for the winner.

The goal was Hrustic's fourth of his Groningen career and the perfect way to start the 23-year-old's season.

Trent Sainsbury began the new season in PSV Eindhoven’s starting XI as they drew 1-1 at Twente on Saturday.

Sainsbury put in a full shift at centre-back alongside Nick Viergever.

The Socceroo was selected ahead of Derrick Luckassen, following the side’s UEFA Champions League exit in qualifying.

Dylan Ryan was an unused sub as Willem II commenced the new Eredivisie campaign with a 3-1 win at PEC Zwolle on Friday night.

Jackson Irvine put in a full shift and got an assist as Hull City started the new Championship season with a 2-1 loss at Swansea City.

Irvine provided the pass for Kamil Grosicki’s third minute opener.

In League One, Mark Milligan debuted with a full game as Southend United lost 1-0 at Coventry City.

Harry Souttar scored and got an assist as Fleetwood Town won 3-1 at Peterborough.

Ryan Edwards debuted for Burton Albion with a full shift in a 1-0 home loss to Ipswich Town.

In the Scottish Premier League on Saturday, Lyndon Dykes made his league debut for new club Livingston in a 0-0 draw with Motherwell.

Dykes, who has moved to newly promoted Livingston from Queen of the South, started and played 82 minutes. He earned a 5/10 rating from the Scottish Sun for his performance.

In the Korean K-League on Sunday, former A-League player Rashid Mahazi played a full game for Incheon United in a 1-0 home loss to Seongnam.

Full games

Jimmy Jeggo, James Holland, Mitch Langerak, Adam Taggart
Awer Mabil - SB 85
Unused subs

Adam Federici, Oliver Bozanic, Bernie Ibini
Notable absentees
Massimo Luongo, Tom Rogic, Daniel Arzani, Martin Boyle, Danny Vukovic